My Poor Eye Lid by Dominic M.

Students were asked to write a memoir based on one important experience from their lives.  Check out Dominic M.’s memoir.  It is about an eye injury he received when he was seven years old.

It was not the first time I excluded myself from people while doing an activity. I was alone at a table, in my elective. I always dreamed of being in a position to go to a different school where I could start a new, but that hasn’t happened yet. I was putting beads on a string to make a necklace. I ran out of beads so I walked to the teacher to get some more.

“Can I get some beads?” I asked. I had gotten them, and while walking back to my isolated table, a girl got up and hit me with what I thought to be her necklace. I heard a sound, like a knife being sharpened, a slice, that only I seemed to hear. I suddenly felt a wave of pain fall over my eyelid, like getting blood drawn from my veins, but from my eye. I ran out of the classroom yelling, screaming in pain, thinking, I’m only 7, I’m too young. Aiming for the nurse’s office, without even thinking to tell the teacher why, I ran, and I came across the principal.

“What’s wrong?” she asked in a concerned voice. I couldn’t talk so I simply uncovered my eyelid not knowing what it looked like. She, first, looked shocked, then, she took me to her office. She called for an ice-pack and asked me a few questions. I told her who did it and what we were doing at the time. She summoned the girl who cut my eyelid, and she came. The principal asked a few questions, and soon, the girl was crying for some reason. I was annoyed by her crying because I was the one with the bleeding eyelid. She soon was allowed to leave while   the principal and I talked some more. Later, I was sent to my next class. I walked back to my class. I had learned that day, to be aware of my surroundings, so that nothing like this ever happened again. And so far it hasn’t…

Leave a Reply

